Problem during upgrade

Legacy OSTC's
Post Reply
bourgetel
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 8. May 2012, 15:46

Problem during upgrade

Post by bourgetel »

Hello,

I tried to do an upgrade for my OSTC 2N today (2 computers).
V3.13 -> V3.15. I had not used them since 2020... no time to dive... :-(

On the 1st computer, no problem, on the second, using same cable and same procedure, I got a timeout in the middle of the transfer and now the OSTC is completely crashed.

I tried tiny bootloader v2, and it cannot find the PIC. Is there a way to unbrick the computer?

Edit: added the log of the bootloader application:

Connected to \\.\COM5 at 115200
Searching for PIC ..., Not found
ERROR!
heinrichsweikamp
Posts: 4385
Joined: Sunday 13. May 2007, 18:07

Re: Problem during upgrade

Post by heinrichsweikamp »

The required trick is already described on the update post here: viewtopic.php?t=4071

- Download bootloader v1 (not v2!)
- Select OSTC, Mk.2/2N/2C
- click on "Update Firmware"
- select HEX file
- "reboot" the OSTC from the Reset menu and (within 5 seconds)
- Click on OK and wait about 30sec.

With this special reboot option:
If the Menu entry "Reboot OSTC" is not available (e.g. a wrong firmware has been installed), the reset can be triggered with a magnet on the back of the OSTC

regards,
Matthias
bourgetel
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 8. May 2012, 15:46

Re: Problem during upgrade

Post by bourgetel »

Hello,

Thank you for the quick reply.

I had already tried it also.

Here is the log of the v1 Bootloader:

Bootloader for HeinrichsWeikamp OSTC,
based on TinyBootLoader, v.1.9.5 written by claudiu.chiculita@ugal.ro
http://www.etc.ugal.ro/cchiculita/softw ... loader.htm
Support: info@heinrichsweikamp.com
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Connected to \\.\COM5 at 19200
Searching for PIC ...Not found,
ERROR!

Connected to \\.\COM5 at 19200
HEX: 855 days old, INHX32,18Fcode+cfg, total=93121 bytes.
Searching for PIC ...Not found,
ERROR!
heinrichsweikamp
Posts: 4385
Joined: Sunday 13. May 2007, 18:07

Re: Problem during upgrade

Post by heinrichsweikamp »

Trick is to start the upgrade ( click on "Update Firmware" ) within max. 2-3 seconds after the reset on the 2N is triggered.

regards,
Matthias
bourgetel
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 8. May 2012, 15:46

Re: Problem during upgrade

Post by bourgetel »

That worked!
Thanks
Post Reply