Problem to upload logbook from 0STC 2 to Diving Log

OSTC's running hwOS sport or tech
Post Reply
jensen.flemming
Posts: 7
Joined: Wednesday 28. August 2019, 23:27

Problem to upload logbook from 0STC 2 to Diving Log

Post by jensen.flemming »

Dear Sirs.

I have since the start of this year have problem to upload dives from my ostc 2 with firmware 10.73.
I installed the version 10.74, but still same issue.

I have a YouTube video with the fail.
https://youtube.com/shorts/JHFaRVDmO-8?feature=share

Thanks in advance

Flemming
heinrichsweikamp
Posts: 4258
Joined: Sunday 13. May 2007, 18:07

Re: Problem to upload logbook from 0STC 2 to Diving Log

Post by heinrichsweikamp »

Are the dives visible in the internal logbook?

Try unticking the "Download new dives only" box in the divinglog App.

regards,
Matthias
jensen.flemming
Posts: 7
Joined: Wednesday 28. August 2019, 23:27

Re: Problem to upload logbook from 0STC 2 to Diving Log

Post by jensen.flemming »

I had 21 dives since the download issue begin.
All of them are visible. I just test with unmarked in only new dives, and it don't make any difference.

Best regards
Flemming
jensen.flemming
Posts: 7
Joined: Wednesday 28. August 2019, 23:27

Re: Problem to upload logbook from 0STC 2 to Diving Log

Post by jensen.flemming »

Hi again.

I have now testedit on a Ipad with subsurface divelog, and it looks like it also has problem with reading the logbook data.
I choose import all dive, but answer is the are no dive to download.

[url]https://youtu.be/V8q2cGzQjUQ[/url]
algo
Posts: 45
Joined: Monday 26. January 2015, 20:08

Re: Problem to upload logbook from 0STC 2 to Diving Log

Post by algo »

Hi,

today i have also problems downloading dives from my OSTC2 (firmware 3.18) with MacDive and Subsurface on a Macbook.

It starts downloading the 4 newest dives and then aborts at the 5th. The 5th however is "special", because it was a dive with 1min duration (aborted to due problems with my buddy). For this dive the internal logbook states "no profile anymore". The dive before and after that are looking as usual in the logbook.

Any chance i can download the dives from the corrupt one to the ones i already have?

It looks like i can download newer dives, because both softwares only are now saying "no new dives"...

BR
Alex
heinrichsweikamp
Posts: 4258
Joined: Sunday 13. May 2007, 18:07

Re: Problem to upload logbook from 0STC 2 to Diving Log

Post by heinrichsweikamp »

Hi,

Due to the way the logbook is stored in the OSTC (This is very deeply anchored in the code and also since >10 years so. And above all, it is not easy to change), it is unfortunately necessary to delete the logbook in such a case. This also resets the pointers to the profile data in memory. After that, a readout of new dives will definitely be possible. I can only assume that these errors in the data log are caused by a faulty firmware in the past or by a not correctly finished dive (battery empty). There is no general error here. We (and many, many others) read out the logbook regularly.

Unfortunately not a great solution, I know.

Greetings,
Matthias
jensen.flemming
Posts: 7
Joined: Wednesday 28. August 2019, 23:27

Re: Problem to upload logbook from 0STC 2 to Diving Log

Post by jensen.flemming »

Hi Mathias

Thanks for your reply.
I seem like you have right with your assumption, and after I reset the logbook It is possible to upload from divecomputer to the software.
A good idea is not to wait 7 month next time same issue will happen... it was a boring process to text the dive manuel in my divelog. :D
heinrichsweikamp
Posts: 4258
Joined: Sunday 13. May 2007, 18:07

Re: Problem to upload logbook from 0STC 2 to Diving Log

Post by heinrichsweikamp »

Hi,

Thanks for the feedback - and sorry again for the trouble.

Matthias
Post Reply